The TT Races- First Place In Fatalities


In the world of motorsport racing, pushing the boundaries of speed and endurance means edging closer to death.

Nobody understands that more than competitors at the annual Tourist Trophy Races (TT Races), the oldest and most prestigious motorcycle chase on the planet.

Since 1911, the treacherous Snaefell Mountain Course on Britain’s Isle of Man has sent 143 professional riders to their death; add the amateur Manx Grand Prix which is run on the same course and the figure climbs to 252.

Over the same period, four-wheel racing at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway witnessed 55 drivers and riding mechanics die. The Daytona International Speedway had 23 car racers killed since the track opened in 1959. In continental Europe, the 24 Hours Le Mans endurance motor competition claimed 22 lives.

Not included are spectator tragedies; the deadliest in history unfolded in Le Mans in 1955 when burning pieces of a car following a crash were flung into a crowd, killing 83 people.

The Isle of Man has been home to two-wheel racing since the early 20th century when the rest of the UK kept motorized speed limits to 20 mph.

The 38-mile Snaefell Mountain Course, an open public road of twists and rises, meanders through towns and fields and is the world’s oldest motorcycle racing circuit.

The death-defying tournament includes several racing classes competing in a time-trial format: Superbike, Supersport, Superstock, Lightweight, Sidecar, Senior and Zero. Each has its own cc range and cylinder specifications.

Zero is the most recent category addition to the famed competition and refers to zero carbon emission vehicles, or electric motorbikes.

Average road speed among top performers running the circuit exceeds 120 mph and racers have cleared 200 mph at certain stretches.

In 2016, Northern Ireland’s Michael Dunlop broke the record for the fastest lap at slightly under 17 minutes, averaging 133.962 mph on his BMW Motorrod. His uncle, Joey Dunlop, was the iconic all-time world champion with 26 TT victories.

The revered “King of the Mountain” was killed in 2000 after losing control of his bike on a wet racing surface in Tallin, Estonia.

Beryl Swaine was the first female solo rider, taking up the challenge in 1962. The "Goddess of the Gas Pedals" managed 48 mph on a 50 cc Itom motorbike, alarming some officials for her safety; females were subsequently banned from the TT until 1978.

With 200 turns and a narrow road to negotiate, it’s not surprising the motorized contest has averaged over 2 deaths a year. Riders blaze around the mountainous course, careening along walls and poles with only inches to spare.

Absolute concentration and split-second timing is key; one wrong flinch can spell disaster.

The TT’s deadliest year was 1970 when six racers were killed; 2005 saw four TT fatalities and six Manx Grand Prix deaths in the same summer season.

Despite some calls over the years to discontinue the TT festival, fiercely loyal followings and economic benefits to the Isle of Man have kept the notorious race going for over a century.

If tradition ever comes with sacrifices, then the TT is a perrenial winner.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Shop For Our Books & DVD's


View larger Puzzle archive


10 years ago

FOOTBALL  April 26, 2008- Jake Long of the University of Michigan is first pick by the Miami Dolphins at the NFL draft. He signs a 5-year, $58 million contract, making him the highest paid offensive lineman in the league’s history. Long would stay with the Dolphins through 2012 and later join the Rams, Falcons and Vikings before retiring in 2017.

20 years ago

NASCAR  April 26, 1998- Bobby Labonte wins the DieHard 500 as the only driver for the Joe Gibbs Racing team. It was the 2nd season victory for the Texas native who also took 1st place at the Primestar 500. At season start, Labonte had finished 2nd to Dale Earnhardt at the Daytona 500, but landed 6th in final points standings at year-end.

30 years ago

GOLF  April 24, 1988- Rosie Jones wins the LPGA USX Golf Classic in a playoff against Kathy Postlewait. It was the second of what would be 13 total victories at the LPGA. The California native attended Ohio State University and turned professional in 1982. Though never clinching a Major, she placed 2nd four times in her career.

40 years ago

TENNIS April 29, 1978- Tennis twin prodigies Mike and Bob Bryan are born in Camarillo, California. The duo won 16 Grand Slam Doubles championships between 2003-2014 and were named ATP team of the decade. They also took gold in Doubles Tennis at the 2012 Olympics. Both played at Stanford University, winning back-to-back NCAA titles.